How to Force Sync extension of customer specific environment in business central

With the release of Business Central Wave 2 2021 aka BCV19 lot of new features has been added to make life easier of developer and/or customers.

Till business central version V18 we are mentioning schemaUpdateMode in launch.json to specify how the data in app should behave when extension is published. In this property we were mentioning

  1. ForceSync
  2. Recreate
  3. Synchronize (This is default value ).

As well as this schema update is used for testing and development and should not be used in production environment as it can disturb your data if the obsolete field is not properly handled.

With the new version of business central new option added as below to sync the schema as below.

  1. Add :- The add option will warn you if schemas are incompatible and will not apply the changes.
  2. Force :- Force sync will overwrite the current schema with the new version without warning. Force sync can lead the data loss.

Please carefully use these options it can lead the data loss and without testing on sandbox don’t apply on production environment.

Hopefully you will find this usefule.

Stay tuned for more.